They Wish They All Could Be California Girls…

Today, The Mister and I talked briefly about moving to California.

The odds of this actually happening are slim, but it is certainly something I wouldn’t be adverse to. California has always held a particular appeal to me, and not even a disastrous short-lived residency in Los Angeles was enough to cool that ardor. Plus, my CA driver’s license picture was gorgeous. Maybe I could recreate that magic.

Katie California

I mean, right? THAT is a driver's license photo.

Don’t get me wrong – I love Colorado, and I am quite happy in Colorado, but I could also see myself being quite happy in Southern California. Not L.A., but one of the beach towns.

There are so many pros to this:

  • I could keep my job and just transfer offices.
  • I could actually drive my car year round.
  • The beach.
  • The sun.
  • The Mister would be back home.
  • It’d be a new adventure.
  • My wardrobe is much more warm-weather friendly.
  • I wouldn’t have to feel guilty about not knowing how to board or ski.
  • I would be tan.
  • My hair would turn blonde.
  • And so many, many more.

Like I said, the chances of us moving to California (at least in the foreseeable future) are so small as to be negligible, but it is a change I would certainly be open to.

Who knows? Maybe one of these days I’ll be a California girl after all.

2 thoughts on “They Wish They All Could Be California Girls…

  1. Isn’t he building a house right now? I couldn’t imagine building a house for myself, then moving to a new state.. Even if that state is California! [I lived there for 4 years while the Hubby was in the military]

    • He’s building a house, so the odds are exceptionally slim, but it was something he was talking about! I know you’ve mentioned Zane discussing plans for the future that don’t always come to fruition, and Tim is often the same way. I’ve gotten better about taking things in stride…

Leave a Reply

